THE KING OF HEARTS

The King Of Hearts

Opening Scriptural Reference:

Proverbs 4:23 (KJV)  Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.

Comment:    I found out yesterday after a series of test that I have a Heart Condition, metaphorically speaking. My heart condition is sever! The test came to revealed that there have been several attacks on the most vital organ that keeps me alive!  As I felt the pain of the attacks, a huge well of emotion arose with in me, I was angry, scared, sad, disappointment, overwhelming depression, and resentment.

Have you ever been under attack and felt it all the way to the heart!

I didn’t have an MRI, or a CAT scan for the test— Just a life situation.

Have you ever had a Heart attack?

The fact is that everyone has a heart condition that is critical and the bible instructs us to keep our heart with all diligence!

We all have sever attacks on our heart.

I.               You need to Guard your Heart!

  1. Every day we need to guard our heart
  2. We never know when we are going to have a Heart attack

II.           We never know when someone that we love or know will attack our heart

  1. People can hurt us
  2. People can wound us
  3. People can disappoint us.
  4. People can let us down.
  5. People can abandon us.

 

III.            We Never Know when something that happens will attack our heart

  1. Things can break us down or can break us up
  2. Things can fall apart
  3. Things can tare us up or will tare us down
  4. Thing can come up-

Anything that is close or that touches us, can attack us, hurt us, and wound us.

Our car-  Our house-  Our bodies-  Our money

Guard your heart for out of it flow all the issues of life!

There is a King that I want to talk about this morning that can give us some insight into how we can take care of our heart and allow our heart to be purified.

The King of Hearts!

The Bible says that David was a man after God’s Heart

Acts 13:17 (KJV) 17 The God of this people of Israel chose our fathers, and exalted the people when they dwelt as strangers in the land of Egypt, and with an high arm brought he them out of it. 

Acts 13:21-23 (KJV) 21 And afterward they desired a king: and God gave unto them Saul the son of Cis, a man of the tribe of Benjamin, by the space of forty years. 22 And when he had removed him, he raised up unto them David to be their king; to whom also he gave testimony, and said, I have found David the son of Jesse, a man after mine own heart, which shall fulfil all my will. 23 Of this man’s seed hath God according to his promise raised unto Israel a Saviour, Jesus:

1 Samuel 13:13-14 (KJV) 13 And Samuel said to Saul, Thou hast done foolishly: thou hast not kept the commandment of the LORD thy God, which he commanded thee: for now would the LORD have established thy kingdom upon Israel for ever. 14 But now thy kingdom shall not continue: the LORD hath sought him a man after his own heart, and the LORD hath commanded him to be captain over his people, because thou hast not kept that which the LORD commanded thee.

  1. The Pure in Heart-
  2. The Hard Heart-
  3. The Broken Heart-

BEFORE I JUMP INTO THESE THREE POINTS LET ME SHOW YOU WHY IT IS SO IMPORTANT TO STAY DILIGENT ABOUT GUARDING OUR HEARTS!

 DAVID IS INSTRUCTING HIS SON SOLOMON-

1 Chronicles 28:9 (KJV) 9 And thou, Solomon my son, know thou the God of thy father, and serve him with a perfect heart and with a willing mind: for the LORD searcheth all hearts, and understandeth all the imaginations of the thoughts: if thou seek him, he will be found of thee; but if thou forsake him, he will cast thee off for ever. 

JESUS IS INSTRUCTING HIS CHURCH-

Revelation 2:23b  …..and all the churches shall know that I am he which searcheth the reins and hearts: and I will give unto every one of you according to your works.

Romans 8:26-27 (KJV)
26 Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. 27 And he that searcheth the hearts knoweth what is the mind of the Spirit, because he maketh intercession for the saints according to the will of God.

I.              The Pure in Heart

Matthew 5:8 (KJV)
8 Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.

The King Of Hearts Says –

Psalm 24:3-4 (KJV)
3 Who shall ascend into the hill of the LORD? or who shall stand in his holy place?
4 He that hath clean hands, and a pure heart; who hath not lifted up his soul unto vanity, nor sworn deceitfully.

Psalm 51:7-10 (KJV) 7 Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. 8 Make me to hear joy and gladness; that the bones which thou hast broken may rejoice. 9 Hide thy face from my sins, and blot out all mine iniquities. 10 Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.

The Pure in Heart-get to experience these three things;

  1. Shall See God
  2. To have glimpses of God
  3. To get revelation

We have a tendency to Look so much on what is going on, on the out side but God when he pick the King of Heart did not choose based on what the David’s dad thought- or even what the prophet picked

1 Samuel 16:6-7 (KJV) 6 And it came to pass, when they were come, that he looked on Eliab, and said, Surely the LORD’S anointed is before him. 7 But the LORD said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the LORD seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the LORD looketh on the heart.

a.   Overlooked- not even take into account.

b.   Inconsiderate- Without regard for the rights or feelings of other.

c.    Rejected- refusing to believe, accept, or consider someone

d.  Left Out- left behind forgotten

That was David!

1 Peter 3:3-4 (KJV) 3 Whose adorning let it not be that outward adorning of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel; 4 But let it bethe hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price.

If we spent an equal amount of time focused on our inner condition as we do our outter appearance, then we would be spiritually equiped to deal with adversities that externally keep us from our eternal purpose!

Whether your Rejected or Accepted depends on the Condition of the Heart!

 

II.              The Hard Heart

Hebrews 3:7-15 (KJV)
7 Wherefore (as the Holy Ghost saith, To day if ye will hear his voice,
8 Harden not your hearts, as in the provocation, in the day of temptation in the wilderness: 9 When your fathers tempted me, proved me, and saw my works forty years. 10 Wherefore I was grieved with that generation, and said, They do alway err in their heart; and they have not known my ways. 11 So I sware in my wrath, They shall not enter into my rest.) 12 Take heed, brethren, lest there be in any of you an evil heart of unbelief, in departing from the living God. 13 But exhort one another daily, while it is called To day; lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin. 14 For we are made partakers of Christ, if we hold the beginning of our confidence stedfast unto the end; 15 While it is said, To day if ye will hear his voice, harden not your hearts, as in the provocation.

People who don’t understand the way God works—can’t hear – they will allow his process to harden them instead of help them remain tender.

     We must keep our heart tender

  1. Not allow the circumstances to callas our heart-becoming cold and calculated
  2. Our heart can be tenderize through beating – like meat
  3. Our it can be kept tender through marinating in the master

 III.            Then there is the Broken Heart

 Psalm 51:15-17 (KJV) 15 O Lord, open thou my lips; and my mouth shall shew forth thy praise. 16 For thou desirest not sacrifice; else would I give it: thou delightest not in burnt offering. 17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.

RIGHT ABOVE YOU CAN SEE THAT DAVID– THE KING OF HEARTS DID NOT HAVE A PERFECT HEART –BUT HE HAD A  HEART THAT HE SUMMITED TO GOD’S  PURIFYING  PROCESS! —DO YOU HAVE A HEART THAT YOU WANT GOD TO CLEAN? THEN DON’T COMPLAIN WHEN HE STARTS THE PROCESS OF USING PEOPLE AND PROBLEMS TO PURIFY IT!

Psalm 51:10 (KJV) 10 Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.

Psalm 34:17-20 (KJV) 17 The righteous cry, and the LORD heareth, and delivereth them out of all their troubles. 18 The LORD is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit. 19 Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the LORD delivereth him out of them all. 20 He keepeth all his bones: not one of them is broken.

Psalm 27:7-14 (KJV) 7 Hear, O LORD, when I cry with my voice: have mercy also upon me, and answer me. 8 When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, LORD, will I seek. 9 Hide not thy face far from me; put not thy servant away in anger: thou hast been my help; leave me not, neither forsake me, O God of my salvation. 
10 When my father and my mother forsake me, then the LORD will take me up.
11 Teach me thy way, O LORD, and lead me in a plain path, because of mine enemies.
12 Deliver me not over unto the will of mine enemies: for false witnesses are risen up against me, and such as breathe out cruelty. 13 I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. 14 Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

The broken heart can praise God through the process because it believe that the pathway to purity is better than being a believer who can’t be used because they were unwilling to remove the wood hay and stubble.

The reason the enemy is so continually after the heart is because of what God has put in the Heart. The Lord has reserved the Heart for the Word of God! The Heart is the faculty where we trust or believe. So if you are going to get attacked by a trial or temptation it inevitablely shall hit at the heart, because  it is the trial of  faith and we believe in the heart.

Proverbs 3:5-6 (KJV)
5 Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

Romans 10:8-10 (KJV) 8 But what saith it? The word is nigh thee, even in thy mouth, and in thy heart: that is, the word of faith, which we preach; 
9 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.
10 For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.

Proverbs 16:1 (KJV) 1 The preparations of the heart in man, and the answer of the tongue, is from the LORD. 

Isaiah 57:15 (KJV) 15 For thus saith the high and lofty One that inhabiteth eternity, whose name is Holy; I dwell in the high and holy place, with him also that is of a contrite and humble spirit, to revive the spirit of the humble, and to revive the heart of the contrite ones. 

6 thoughts on “THE KING OF HEARTS

  1. Interestingly, Paul tells us to put on the breastplate of righteousness, the part of the armor that covers the heart and protects the heart. But if your heart is not right with God, righteousness is hard to come by. I recognize that it is His righteousness and not mine, but if there is an issue of the heart, how can you guard it before you fix it?????

    • You are referring to the scriptures that deals with the Devil’s attempt to poison a persons heart with the fiery darts of wrongful desires, to which Christ is providing armor as a defense. In the scriptures to which the Blog is speaking, deals with God positioning the heart of the person into a right relationship with Him and that heart requires purifying. Both scripture are equally applicable to our present condition and one must be put before the other or we would have no devil to deal with, because our hearts would belong to him.

      • Jesus said you are clean through the word I have spoken unto you, yet in another verse is says, “Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. I would say that it is both, he wants my will yielded to his, so that fruit can come to perfection!

  2. God help those of us with imperfect hearts submit to your purifying process. We want what you desire and that is truth in our inward parts. Thanks for the rest of the story from last nights bible study.

Leave a Reply

